EU Mission “Climate-Neutral and Smart Cities” announced

Earlier this year, 377 European cities applied to be one of the 100 cities selected in the frame of the Horizon Europe Mission on climate-neutral and smart cities. Last week the European Commission announced the 112 cities that have been selected. EFI’s Bioregions Facility is pleased to see Vitoria-Gasteiz from Basque Country, and Aachen and Dortmund from North Rhine-Westphalia among selected cities.

The 100 cities come from all 27 Member States, with 12 additional cities coming from countries associated or with the potential of being associated to Horizon Europe, the EU’s research and innovation programme (2021-2027).  Selected cities will work together to reach climate neutrality by 2030, receiving dedicated support from the Mission Platform, NetZeroCities. The Mission aims to deliver at least 100 climate-neutral and smart cities by 2030, who will act as experimentation and innovation hubs to support all European cities in becoming climate-neutral by 2050.